New databases & e-books: OpenDissertations and others

The following databases and e-books are newly available on EBSCOhost, which is a scholarly information search service.

[Databases]

• OpenDissertations
  OpenDissertations contains more than 1.4 million open access theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
• MEDLINE
  Created by United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) is a research database for library and information science studies. It contains bibliographic data of articles published in approximately 690 journals and periodicals.

[E-books]

• eBook Open Access (OA) Collection
  The collection includes more than 2,600 open access e-books provided by scholarly publishers and university presses around the world. Its contents will continue to grow.

How to use

You can access the online resources by either one of the following methods. Devices need to be connected to the Tokyo Tech campus network. Tokyo Tech students, full-time instructors, and part-time instructors can also access the e-books from off campus using the SSL-VPN.

• Click a link in the "Databases" or "E-books" above.
• Access to EBSCOhost and select database(s) and/or e-book collection(s) you want to use.

Others

• Multiple people can use each database and e-book at the same time.
• You can also see the information about the online resources in the list of databases available at Tokyo Tech.
• The followings are prohibited:
  • downloading a large numbers of articles
  • commercial, non-educational, non-scholarly, or non-research use
  • reproduction and distribution to others
  • any conduct that violates Japan's Copyright Law
  Use only resources that you really need for academic and educational purposes.
  See Attention to the Use of Electronic Information Resources for details.